There's never a good time to do something

There’s Never a “Perfect” Time to Do Something

Blog fatigue: When you start a blog and then run out of steam and abandon it.

I confess. As you probably already know, I am guilty of this! Over the weekend a friend mentioned she had discovered my blog through the link in my Instagram profile and that she was reading through some of the posts. I was immediately ashamed because I HAVE NOT UPDATED THIS BLOG IN FOREVER!

I feel like Dug from Up with his cone of shame. I do not like the cone of shame! And the worst part is, I only have myself to blame.

When I go home instead of writing I do everything else. I cook, exercise, read a book, go online, or watch Netflix. None of these activities are bad (except getting sucked into the vortex of social media or binge-watching Netflix…I know I’m not the only one who does this), but they can be a time suck. I am so easily distracted and procrastinate writing. I’ll even start writing a post only to lose abandon it halfway through. I have at least six posts that are incoherent, stream of consciousness ramblings.

You Make Time for The Things You Really Want to Do

I make excuses. I’m busy hanging out with real people having real experiences, work is hectic right now, I’m too tired, or I’ll do it later. But, there will always be a reason not to write. One thing I’ve realized is that there’s never a good time to do something. Life is not neat and you make time for the things that you really want to do. For example, do I really want to write this blog? If I say yes, I do want to keep blogging, but I can’t because I’m too busy, that wouldn’t be true. Just today I took the time to make chocolate caramel cookie bars from scratch…why? Because I am a crazy person and am really love eating sweets. In the hour it took me to make them I could have been doing something else (like writing).

 

In the broader sense there’s also never really a good or perfect time to move to a new city, get married, to go back to school, to have a baby, to spend more time with your family, etc. There will always be something. And we have to decide what’s really important.

Fill in the blank: I’m too busy to _________.

My mom used to tell me when I was a kid that everyone gets only 24 hours in a day and if I didn’t have time to do something it was probably because I had wasted it. (Why are moms right about this type of stuff?) We’re never too busy to do things that we really want to do, as the saying goes: “Where there’s a will, there’s a way.” It’s all about priorities and passion.

Anyway, the conversation over the weekend motivated me to at least write this post about motivation. There will be more posts coming soon! I don’t want to suffer from blog fatigue. I want blog MOTIVATION!

Feature Photo Credit: stefanos papachristou via Flickr cc

Leave a Reply

