Hitting Send

It’s silly, but I have been postponing sending an email for over 6 months. I finally hit send earlier this week and breathed a huge sigh of relief.

It was a short, administrative email about a not fun thing, but it only took about five minutes tops to write. So why did I wait so long?

The truth is it really stressed me out and I didn’t want to deal with it so I put it in a box for another day.

I tend to compartmentalize. For example, my work life and home life are very separate, and obstacles I face in one area of my life usually don’t overflow to others. The problem is that I’m not as good at compartmentalizing as I thought I was, especially over a long period of time. Some of the stress and anxiety from both the original issue and from putting off this email were seeping into my daily life. I know sweeping something under the rug doesn’t make it go away, but sometimes I really hope that if I close my eyes my problems will vanish!

I’m not the type of person that confronts a problem head-on. I like to analyze from all angles, formulate a plan, and then execute it flawlessly (hopefully). In some ways this is a positive trait; it means I don’t rush into things. On the other hand, I can examine every little detail and delay moving forward. At some point, I have to stop thinking and start doing. Sometimes even just making a decision, even if I don’t know it’s the 100% best decision, is better than no action at all.

When I was little, my mom used to tell me to immediately put my clothes away when I came home from school. She probably said this because didn’t want our junk lying all over the house, but she was also trying to teach me good habits. If you start training yourself to “just do it,” especially when it comes to small chores, it will be easier to tackle bigger challenges in the same way.

Photo credit: Barn Images
Leave a Reply

