What’s New with You? Super Cookie Recipe Review

When people ask me, “What have you been up to lately?” I’m never really sure how to respond. Other people are doing exciting things like going to grad school, having a baby, getting engaged or married (seriously a million people are doing this right now), earning a promotion, or buying a house.

Meanwhile, I’ve baked a batch of super chocolate chip cookies. Yes, that is my accomplishment for the week. And I made my bed this morning.

In short, nothing is new. There’s nothing earth shattering or eventful happening right now. Uneventful is not terrible; at least I’m not facing the other side of the coin and dealing with loss and hardship and I’m grateful.

Anyway, let’s go back to the cookies because…why not?

I made Smitten Kitchen’s consummate chocolate chip cookie recipe with few adjustments of my own.

Mixing the cookie dough

I ❤ our KitchenAid mixer!

1. Normal chocolate chips

I could not find fancy chocolate disks at the grocery store and I was not about to go to another store so I used Ghirardelli chips instead.

2. Smaller cookies

As she says in her post…these cookies are HUGE. Each ball of cookie dough is supposed to weigh 3.5 oz and bake into a 5-inch cookie. She tells you “don’t fight it” when it comes to rolling out massive balls of cookie dough, but I just couldn’t do it. I rolled my cookie dough into the biggest size I could handle and found they only came to 2.5 oz when I weighed them on our kitchen scale, which is actually a scale from Stamps.com meant to weigh postage. The scale is digital so it’s easy to read and can be zeroed so you can place a bowl, plate or napkin on it to weigh messy foods with minimal clean up.

I recommend rolling the dough into 2.5 oz balls to make 3.5 inch baked cookies (instead of 3.5 oz dough balls to make 5 inch cookies). 3.5 inches is the perfect size for a large, beautiful cookie without it being ridiculous.

Roll dough into 2.5 oz balls.

Roll dough into 2.5 oz balls.

3. Bake for 17 minutes

I baked the cookies for the full 17 minutes, the upper range of the bake time, and they were still soft and chewy, even with the smaller size.

With my modifications, I baked 18 cookies. We ate some of the raw cookie dough so I probably could have made 20 total. The cookies were chewy and quite a bit fluffier than the Smitten Kitchen ones since they did not spread a lot. I’m not sure why that is (any bakers want to help me out?) and they were absolutely delicious. I would definitely make them again!

I only made seven cookies to start with and served them at my Bible study, gave one to my boyfriend, and selfishly ate two. It was a good thing I didn’t bake the whole batch at once or they would be gone! I took her suggestion and rolled the remainder of the dough into cookie sized balls and threw it in the freezer. Hopefully this will help with portion control in the future.

Super chocolate cookie

Yum, yum, yum! 🍪🍪🍪

2 thoughts on “What’s New with You? Super Cookie Recipe Review

  1. Rosie says:

    I’d say baking a batch of super tasty cookies is still an accomplishment, given so many people just buy them these days 🙂 I’ll have to keep the portion freezing tip in mind for future cookie baking sessions!

    Like

Leave a Reply

